Yarra Ranges athletes finish XCR on top

Lauren Starr in the Division 2 Women''s competition.

By Jamie Strudley

The XCR18 finale was held around the Tan Track in Melbourne on Saturday 15 September.

After nine fun rounds of cross-country and road running, the season culminated with the Tan Relays around the famous 3.8 kilometre track.

Yarra Ranges Athletics had 10 teams entered in open men, open women, under-18 men, under-18 women and under-14 women, competing alongside 300 other teams from throughout Victoria.

Conditions changed throughout the event, providing additional challenges to all athletes.

Stars of the show for Yarra Ranges Athletics were its under-18 and under-14 womens teams, which dominated their respective age groups to record convincing wins.

The fastest club athletes were Harry Norman (12.08), Dean Tromp (12.40) and Seamus Dwyer (12.56) in the mens teams and Lauren Starr (14.11) and Georgia Laven (14.15).

Club results are:

Men Division 3 – 3rd Dean Tromp 12.40, Seamus Dwyer 12.56, James Laven 13.22, Max Saville-Bentley 13.24.

Men Division 5 – 7th Graham Coutts 15.13, Jamie Strudley 14.57, Bryan Ackerly 15.15.

Men Division 7 – 6th Craig Hewitson 16.38, Andrew Searles 14.20, Maxim Somerville 17.02.

Men Division 5 – 7th Graham Coutts 15.13, Jamie Strudley 14.57, Bryan Ackerly 15.15.

Women Division 2 – 10th Lauren Star 14.18, Sarah Love 17.12, Katie Clarke 18.56.

Women Division 4 – 11th Laura Di Gregorio 19.15, Kate Van Dureen 21.25.

Women Division 5 – 8th Veida Somerville 15.14, Hannah Wells 20.46.

Men Under-18 – 4th Harry Norman 12.08, Harrison Van Duuren 12.59.

Women Under-18 – 1st Georgia Laven 14.15, Grace Muller 15.03.

Women Under-14 – 1st Indi Linde 15.00, Kiara Flavel 14.35.

Next up is a Yarra Ranges Athletics come and try day on Saturday 22 September from 9am.

The club welcomes all athletes of any age or ability.

Visit yarrarangesathletics.org.au.

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.